Better Choices, Better Results

Archive for May 24, 2011

Salmon Caesar Salad

My latest and greatest…Salmon Caesar Salad.  I started with Romaine Lettuce and added onion and parmesan cheese.  I grilled a piece of salmon on the old George Foreman and placed it on top.  Then I topped it all with this homemade dressing that I found on A Veggie Venture.

Salmon Ceasar

I'm becoming such a fan of salmon!

CAESAR SALAD DRESSING

Hands-on time: 15 minutes
Time to table: 15 minutes
Serves 4 (and dressing leftover for another evening)
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
1 egg (if you don’t eat raw eggs, don’t!)
1 teaspoon coarse Dijon mustard
4 anchovies (don’t even think about skipping these! without anchovies it might be salad dressing but it’s not Caesar salad dressing)
2 tablespoons good olive oil
Salt if needed

It wasn’t bad, although I thought the dressing was a little too vinegar-y.  I’d make it again with less vinegar.  The salmon, though, was excellent!  Tons of protein and I stayed full for a very long time. 

What’s your favorite low-cal/low-fat dressing?