Better Choices, Better Results

Life has been a bit crazy.  I won’t go into details other than to say I am working very hard with my job and my garden.  Canning season has arrived, and so has Zucchini Season!  What was I thinking when I planted 6 zucchini plants in my garden and 4 in one of the flower beds?

Today I made 2 1/2 gallons of zucchini soup (zucchini, onion, butter, garlic, milk, cream, chicken broth, salt and pepper) and several jars of zucchini jam (zucchini, sugar, pineapple, lemon juice and strawberry Jell-O).  I’ve done a few batches of dehydrated zuchini chips and I have plans to make zucchini lasagna, sugar-free zucchini bread, canned zucchini in tomato puree, etc., etc., ETC.!

We’ve harvested the first batch of beans and got 39 quarts out of it.  I have both frozen and dehydrated some cabbages.  The potatoes came early this year, and I dug those yesterday.  Now I’m waiting for the tomatoes and corn to get ready.

I just love a good harvest, don’t you?

Comments on: "Dealing with the Crazy" (1)

  1. zucchini are amazing plants…even after the sheep ate all the leaves off of ours, they are still blooming!

Leave a comment