Better Choices, Better Results

More Freezer Love…

I’ve been at it again!  I have so much fun finding recipes that I think will be nutritious and filling and will freeze well for work-week lunches.   As you know, it’s important to me to know what’s in my food.  I do pretty well on most days because most of what we eat comes out of our own kitchen.  Often, the food has been grown in my garden or by local farmers, which makes it even better.

Today, while Googling “make your own frozen lunches”, I found a recipe for a tuna burger.  Since I’d never made tuna burgers (patties) before, I thought it might be a great lunchtime project for me.  Here’s the recipe that I used:

 

Simple Ingredients - and I had everything on hand!

 

Tuna Burgers from Spark People

2 cans chunk light tuna (I used 4 – 2.5 oz. pouches)
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
2 eggs
1/4 cup chopped red onion
1/4 cup chopped celery
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp horseradish
1 clove garlic, minced

This was just like mixing a meatloaf; I got in there with my hands!

The original recipe called for the burgers (patties) to be fried in olive oil and then baked.  I decided to just put them on the Foreman Grill to avoid adding extra fats.  They turned out just fine.

I really should pull out this grill more often!

I decided to pair the patties with some homemade mac & cheese, broccoli and tomato wedges.  The recipe made 4 patties, so I put two of them in lunch containers and will freeze them.  I suspect they will reheat nicely.

In addition to what we ate for lunch, I had enough to make up two frozen lunches.

It was really good!  Definitely a keeper!  The lemon and horseradish gave the patties a little kick that was unexpected.  The mac & cheese added comfort and the veggies – well they are just good for you!

This meal was so good and very filling!

 

My next project is a Cajun Chicken & Pasta!  I will be back with a report and recipe, of course!

Comments on: "More Freezer Love…" (2)

  1. Yum! I can probably replace the tuna with chicken. I have a recipe for chicken patties that you can make in bulk, freeze, and make several entrees. Chicken sandwiches or Chicken parmesan or any other chicken you can think of. I’m loving your lunch posts, sis. Cincyjojo.

    • Jojo – send me that recipe! I would love to try it! I’ve got another great post on Cajun Chicken Pasts coming later today.

Leave a Reply

