Better Choices, Better Results

MYO – Canned Chicken

Imagine that you’ve come home from a tough day at work and you are, as on most days, exhausted.  However, this morning you forgot to lay out something for supper, and everything you have requires thawing or a long cooking process.

Time to just call it a day and go out for dinner, right?

Not if you have some staples in your pantry that are ready to use!  Canned meats are something that I keep on hand and they’ve proven themselves to be very helpful on those crazy days.  When I have something like…canned chicken…I can have a healthy and nutritious meal thrown together in less time than it would take to drive to the nearest nice restaurant.

You can purchase canned chicken in the grocery.  In fact, I used to buy large cans of it from Sam’s or Costco to keep on hand for chicken salad.  However, since I started canning my own, there is just no comparison in the taste and texture.  Mine ROCKS!

If you’ve never canned your own food before, don’t be afraid to try it.  After your initial monetary outlay for the pressure canner and jars, you’ll find that you save a lot of money.

If you can find your chicken on sale, of course, your price-per-ounce goes down.  If you like dark meat and don’t mind dealing with bones and skin, you can get cheaper cuts and save even more money.  I, on the other hand, was almost out of canned chicken, I don’t like dark meat and I don’t like messing with the skin and bones, so I bought skinless, boneless chicken breasts at Sam’s Club.

It starts with getting some chicken!

I may do some canning tutorials later on, but for now, let’s just see what the results are from this canning session.

I had enough chicken for 5 quarts of chicken and broth.  Each jar contains about 30 oz.  That’s 150 ounces of chicken and broth.  I spent $24.64 for the chicken, and had everything else I needed on hand.  That comes out to 16.4 cents for ounce.

 

Five quarts of delicious, ready-to-eat chicken!

 

Costco has large 12.5 ounce cans of chicken packaged in 6-can units.  The cost is $13.99, or 18.6 cents per ounce.

Costco's version....

WIN!

Again, we each have to choose if the extra time spent in preparation is worth it to save roughly 2 cents per ounce.

Well, here’s my 2-cents worth.  (See what I did there?)

  1. I’ve had both, and my chicken tastes better.
  2. The texture is better.
  3. The broth in my chicken is useable; the store-bought chicken is packed in water.
  4. I know what’s in it, although I wish I had more control over the chicken itself.  I’d much rather find a local organic supplier, and maybe I will someday.

How do I use my chicken?  Any way that you would use chicken in any recipe.

  • Chicken Salad
  • BBQ Chicken Sandwiches
  • Chicken Soup
  • White Chicken Chili
  • Chicken Fried Rice
  • Chicken Tacos
  • Buffalo Chicken Dip
  • Chicken Pot Pie

I could go on and on…..

I’ve also canned cubed steak, and hamburger meat.  I’ve canned sausage patties, and hope to do ham in the near future.

What types of ready-to-eat foods would you like to keep on hand?

Comments on: "MYO – Canned Chicken" (3)

  1. I home can chicken, ham, hamburger, turkey, and pork loin. LOVE all the options it gives me. Did you know you can shred your chicken with your stand mixer? Love the texture. I open a jar, drain the fluid (saving it) and place chicken in my kitchen aid mixer bowl. Use the paddle attachment and turn on low for about 30 seconds or til the consistency you like! Easy!

    • Brenda,
      I just recently learned that little trick myself, and you are right…the texture is perfect! I’ll be doing hamburger this weekend if all goes well. I tried it in the fall and we’ve just loved the ease of having it ready to use when we need it.

  2. Your chicken looks wonderful! I love canning chicken. I also like it in place of ground beef on tacos.

Leave a Reply

