Better Choices, Better Results

Today I was craving a big salad.  A big, fruity salad.  With chicken.  I had lettuce from my salad drawer, I had kiwis, fresh pineapple and madarin oranges.  I had all the makings for a great salad.  Everything, except the dressing.

We had ranch dressing, but that didn’t seem right.

We had a light olive oil & vinegar, but that didn’t really strike my fancy, either.  I wanted a sweet dressing, but had nothing on hand.  At least, nothing already made.

I had ingredients, though!  And here we go!

I pulled out some Olive Oil Mayo (lower in calories than traditional mayo), low fat sour cream, honey, poppy seeds and a can of mandarin oranges (canned in their own juice).

Orange Poppy Seed Dressing
– Dervied from this recipe

  • 3 tb. Mayonnaise
  • 3 tb. Low Fat Sour Cream
  • 1/4 cup Mandarin Orange Juice (poured straight from the can)
  • 1 tb. Honey
  • 2 tsp. poppy seeds

Whisk together well.

After I put together the dressing, I pulled out the rest of a rotisserie chicken that I bought at Sam’s Club yesterday.  I cut up about 8 oz. of chicken and poured about 2 Tb. of teriyaki sauce over it.  I stirred that together, then put it in a skillet to warm.

While the chicken was warming, I peeled 2 kiwis and chopped up some pineapple spears (also purchased at Sam’s).  I finished draining off the juice from the mandarin oranges.

Once the chicken was heated through, I pulled out a jar of lettuce and dumped it in a large plate.  I added dressing, 4 ounces of the chicken, half of the fruit and some of the dressing.

Here is the finished product:

 

My latest creation: a Fruity Salad with poppy seed dressing! (I think the picture would look more appetizing on a darker plate. Lots to learn about food photography!)

 

 

Comments on: "Never Fear – The Salad Artist is Here!" (1)

  1. Looks delicious! You’re making me hungry!

Leave a Reply

