Better Choices, Better Results

Weekend Breakfast!

I love breakfast.  I especially love it when I have enough time to cook and be creative with it.  I can’t believe there was a time in my life when I skipped breakfast.   Even worse, I can’t believe there was a time in my life when I got my breakfast in a paper sack thrust at me through a drive-thru window!  Almost exclusively!  Good grief…what was I thinking?

For the past year, I have eaten breakfast at home almost every day.  Sadly, there have been a few days when I was running late for work and was forced to stop at a drive-through, but I didn’t like it.

For the past couple of months, I have been blessed to have someone with which to share those breakfast duties; my mother recently retired and she has been gracious enough to cook on many days.

This morning, I cooked.  I made my favorite high-protein pancakes with granola.  Instead of syrup, I topped with Biscoff Spread and finished the presentation with a sliced banana.

 

This stuff is fantastic!

This recipe is so easy and incredibly good.  I make it with rolled oats for fiber and good carbs, cottage cheese for protein and dairy, and egg whites for more protein.  A little baking powder makes them rise, and a little vanilla gives it extra flavor.  Sometimes I’ll have ham or bacon with the pancakes, but not today.  Today was all about the pancake!

It tasted as good as it looks!

 

Recipe

  • ½ cup rolled oats (uncooked)
  • ½ cup cottage cheese
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla

Place all ingredients into a blender (I used my Magic Bullet) and blend until smooth.  Spray a skillet with non-stick cooking spray and cook ¼ cup of the mixture at a time.  Sometimes I’ll sprinkle a tablespoon of granola on the top of the mixture wile the first side is cooking.

Wait until bubbles form over the entire surface of the pancake before flipping.  This recipe will make four or 5 filling pancakes.  I serve two at a time.

You can used your favorite syrup, but today I chose to use Biscoff Spread.  Peanut butter is good, too.  Tip:  it’s easier to spread the peanut butter or Biscoff if you warm it in the microwave until it’s pourable.

Enjoy!

Comments on: "Weekend Breakfast!" (1)

  1. looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

