Better Choices, Better Results

Just LOOK at this!

Look at this!  Just look!

My current stash.

I am the world’s worst at buying a new gadget with the intentions of putting it to work for me.  Sometimes, it works out great.  Those gadgets are usually kitchen-oriented in nature.  On the other hand, I find myself spending a lot of money on other items that just gather dust because the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.

Exercise.  I hate it.  I don’t want to hate it.  I want to love it, but I can’t get past hating it in order to love it.

I have bought so many exercise “gadgets” over the past 25 years. It’s kind of scary, really.  I’ve joined gyms, thinking that if I have a place to go, I’ll go.  Nope.

I’ve bought new work-out clothes and shoes, thinking that if I looked the part, I’d BE the part.  Nope.

Back in the days of the VCR, I had Sweatin’ to the Oldies, volumes 1, 2 & 3.  I had other tapes as well.  Did I use them?  Rarely. I always felt so silly bouncing around the living room by myself.

My Walking collection.

I’ve bought rollerblades.  Nope.

I’ve bought weights and jump ropes.  Uhn-uh.

I’ve bought DVD’s.  No.

This box hasn't even been opened yet!

I bought a really great bike last year!  It’s sad, really.

BUT…

I have been at a plateau in my weight loss for 2 – 3 months.  I’m bouncing back and forth between 55 – 60 pounds lost, and it’s driving me crazy.

Neither has this one....

It’s time for an intervention.

I have to add some physical activity into my life.  There’s just no way around it.  It has to be done.  I’m not happy about it, but I have a goal, and that goal is to reach my goal weight this year, and if I don’t get back to losing, history shows that I’ll get back to gaining.

NO!

So, I am pledging to myself to start out doing 3 days per week of some type of physical activity.  I have lots of options from which to choose.  I’ll report weekly on what I did.  Being accountable to you, my readers, is the ONLY way I’m going to make it work for me.

Also, I have a running instructor scheduled to speak to our support group on April 4th with the goal of training those who attend for a 5K by September.  I fully plan to take part in that, too.

And that bike in our storage building?  We are going to get more acquainted come spring.

Who’s with me?

Comments on: "Just LOOK at this!" (4)

  1. Amy LoBianco said:

    I’m with you! Girl, you could have been talking about me too! I feel your pain! I go to Immani Gym and work with a trainer, because I found that I’m more likely to go when I have it scheduled out in advance. I still don’t like it, I still hate the pain, and I still don’t want to go, but for me when I have it written down on a calender and I see it all scheduled out I’m more likely to go. Also, having a trainer tapping his foot waiting for you is also an incentive to go! I’ve signed up for a 5 K in June, so I’m working towards that goal. Also, I have a bike too and would like to eventually join one of the biking clubs around town – that sounds like a lot of fun to be in a group of people biking all over the back roads! Good luck! I’ll totally be there for the April meeting – I can use all the help I can get.

    • Amy – it’s crazy how much I hate it, even though I always feel better when I do it! I’m glad to know there will be at least one person on the support group meeting with me! I’ll see you then…and keep up the good work!

      Joann

  2. I’ll try, Deb! There are some days that I’m chained to my desk! Let’s start today!

  3. I would have thought you were writing about me! I have an idea. Can you take a break in the middle of the day for a 15-20 min walk? Schedule a time and then be accountable to report back after the walk is taken. I’m in on this but I need to be held accountable!

Leave a Reply

