Better Choices, Better Results

A Comfort Salad?

The Salad Artist Strikes again!  I found this recipe on Food.com a few years ago.   I absolutely fell in love with it, and made it quite a few times.  It’s like comfort food to me with the spices and creamy beans and delicious vegetables.

Then, as new recipes found me, I kind of forgot about this dish.  You know how it goes.

A few days ago, I remembered this salad and how good this was, and went looking for the recipe.  You can link to the original recipe here, but I’m going to share the recipe with my changes.

I apologize for not taking photos the whole way through; I guess I was too excited about eating it to think about grabbing my camera!

This recipe makes a lot, but if you are like me and don’t mind eating leftovers, you can enjoy this for days!

Ingredients – Joann’s Version

    • 2 lbs ground beef (very lean)
    • 2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
    • 2 cups diced bell peppers – I used red, yellow and green
    • 1 1/2 cups diced yellow onions
    • 5 minced fresh garlic cloves
    • 1 1/3 cups salsa picante sauce
    • 2 tablespoons dried basil
    • 2 tablespoons dried dill
    • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
    • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    • 1 dash turmeric
    • 2 tablespoons olive oil
    • hot sauce, of choice, added at table (optional)
    • 16 -20 cups torn salad greens ( bagged salad is fine)
    • 8 -10 tablespoons low-fat sour cream
    • 8 -10 ounces shredded low-fat cheddar cheese

Directions

  1. Sauté all the veggies and spices together.
  2. Add the beef and cook until it browns and gives up the fat.
  3. Drain it thoroughly!
  4. Return to pan or pot; add the salsa and the black beans.
  5. Cook until really hot.
  6. Add salt and pepper, and hot sauce if desired.
  7. Serve over mixed salad greens (suggested one cup of beef/bean mixture) with a tablespoon of low-fat sour cream and/or shredded low-fat cheddar cheese.

 

And now…for some visual stimulation…

 

So Good!

 

Try it!  You won’t believe how good it is until you taste it!

Comments on: "A Comfort Salad?" (2)

  1. OMG! That looks absolutely incredible!

Leave a Reply

