Better Choices, Better Results

Making Preparations…

My days have been filled with work and my nights and weekends have been filled with some kind of canning and preserving activity for weeks and weeks.  With Fall’s arrival, I’ll get to slow down a bit, at least when it comes to canning.

Oh, heck!  What am I saying!  We all know that if I find something intriguing to can, I’m going to try it!

Anyway, my focus is now on my upcoming Cooking Demo.  If you are new to this blog, I do a quarterly Cooking Demo for our weight loss surgery patients.  On November 1st I’ll be showing our patients the wonders of dehydrating!  I’ve been scouring internet chatrooms and asking for ideas from my favorite blog, Chickens in the Road.  The people from there have the most amazing ideas and I can’t wait to experiement.

Do any of you have experience with dehydrating?  I’d love to hear about it!

Comments on: "Making Preparations…" (6)

  1. Tip for a quick and easy jerky. Sometimes you want jerky but don’t have the time to slice and marinate (or maybe you just want to try out your new dehydrator). Go to your local deli and get them to slice you some Pastrami (we like Boar’s head). Throw it on your dehydrator trays and dehydrate just like you would if you’d taken the time to slice and marinate! It’s quick, easy, and DELICIOUS!

    (I have MISSED getting these posts!)

    • OK – that just sounds incredible! I will have to try that. I also need to get a meat slicer so I can cut my own farm-raised and grain-fed beef to the thickness I need. Sigh…another toy to put on my list…

      (I’m working on getting some posts written! I miss posting, too!)

      Joann

  2. Amy LoBianco said:

    I can’t comment, as I am a mere amature compared with your expertise! However, I do have a question. I love cooking with sun-dried tomatoes, but they are fairly expensive to buy in the store, so I don’t use them very often. I like the ones packed in olive oil the best because they are dried, but still supple and easier to work with in recipies. Can you pack dehydrated tomatoes in olive oil and get the same result as the store , or will they still be stiff?

    • I have tried this and so far, they’ve been a little stiff. However, if I could time them so I am home when they were ready to come out, I believe I could take them out sooner and avoid overdrying them. As they are, I packed them in a jar with olive oil and cut them up to add to my bread dough. They rehydrate nicely as the dough is rising and I can’t tell the difference between mine and store bought!

    • Amy,
      You are right! So many things in the grocery stores are so expensive! You absolutely can do your own oil-packed, sun-dried tomates. Here’s a link that I found for you to look at – I go to this site a lot when researching how to preserve items. http://www.pickyourown.org/tomatoes_sun_dried.htm

      Note: This site suggests drying and storing your tomatoes without oil until you are ready to use them, then just make a small batch by putting some dried tomatoes in oil and storing them in the refrigerator.

      Joann

Leave a Reply

