Better Choices, Better Results

I Made Jerky!

I bought a new dehydrator back in January, and I’ve wanted to try making jerky for some time, but I’ve been afraid to try it for some reason.  I came up with passable excuses:

  • I don’t have time.
  • We don’t have the beef right now.
  • I can’t slice meat that thinly.
  • I’m using the dehydrator for veggies right now.

Well, this weekend I did have time.  We had the beef – we bought it thinly sliced for this purpose.  And, I had just completed drying some green beans and had nothing new to put on the dehydrator, so it seemed like the perfect time.

Spoiler Alert!  If you are coming to my cooking demo on November 1st, you’ll be seeing a demo of me making jerky, among other things.

I found a recipe on the internet (I just love the internet!) that my dad thought he would like.  I gathered my ingredients:  (Ignore the mushrooms, cooking sherry and beef stock – that was used in a Golden Mushroom Soup that I canned for future use!)

Paprika, Pepper, Salt, Onion Powder, Cayenne Pepper, A1 Sauce, Worchestershire Sauce and Beef

 Then I trimmed all the fat and connective tissue that I could:

 

Trimmed and cut into smaller pieces.

Then I marinated the beef in the seasonings for about 3 hours.

 

Onto the dehydrator tray it went.  I cranked the temperature up to 160 degrees and walked away.

 

After about 6 hours, I went to check it and found that it had become jerky!

 

I tasted it, and put it in a jar (imagine that!).  It’s ready to eat.  I can’t wait to try other recipes!  Now that I know how to do this, I’ll be making jerky often and using my new FoodSaver to seal it in bags for long-term storage.

 

Have you ever made jerky?

Leave a Reply

