Better Choices, Better Results

Baking Soda Shampoo

I mentioned in a previous post that I’d stopped using regular shampoo in favor of a baking soda and water mixture.   Someone commented they would like a little more explanation on that, so here it is.  This is my story of how I gave up the expense and chemicals of regular shampoo.

 If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you know that I’m in favor of the more natural, sustainable things in life.  My baking soda “shampoo” is a change that I’ve made in that direction.

I first read about this on my favorite blog, Chickens in the Road.  Then I did a little more research and found this blog, which supported what I’d read over at Chickens.

I was ready to try this out.  I mixed up my solution of one tablespoon baking soda with 8 oz. of regular tap water.  I did this at night so it would be ready to use the next morning.

What I found interesting was that after sitting overnight, the baking soda dissolved completely.  It looked like I was using regular water.

I squirted a little of the mixture on my wet hair – brrr!  It was cold!  After that initial shock, I gently worked the “shampoo” through my short hair.  It didn’t take much, maybe a tablespoon or 2, and I could feel the grime releasing from my hair as I washed.  I rinsed and was done.

I could tell no difference at all in how my hair performed with this as compared to store-bought shampoo.  You may be different.  I’ve read that some people do have a week or two of adjustment, so be patient if you choose to try this.  I think that one reason I adjusted so easily is that I don’t use any commercially-produced hair products, like gel or mousse or even hair-spray.  I’ve just never liked the feel of them and they always made my scalp itch, so I just didn’t think it was worth the bother.

I’ve also noticed that if my hair is really dirty – like if I’ve been working in the garden – I can feel a very slight lather with the baking soda.

 

My hair the day after rinsing with baking soda and water. You can see that it's not greasy or oily, and my waves and curls are as natural as can be.

 

OK – so now you know my clean little secret – I don’t use shampoo!

Leave a Reply

