Better Choices, Better Results

Backsliding

The past couple of weeks have been difficult for me.  I’ve struggled to keep from eating too much and from eating the wrong things.

While I was in West Virginia at the retreat, I didn’t have a lot of choice in what I ate; I had to eat what was provided to me.  Let me say that the food was really quite good.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, the people in the bread-making classes provided bread; loaves, rolls, pepperoni rolls, cinnamon rolls and cocoa rolls and Fruit and Cheese Danish for us to eat while we were there.  They were good, but they weren’t exactly healthy.  I’m grateful to know how to make them, and I’ll be making some to share with my family and co-workers, but for myself, I really prefer whole grain breads.

Breakfast each day was a bread of some sort.  Again – very good, but I needed protein!  Without it, I knew I’d be famished within an hour.  The first morning my new friends and I went in search of a protein option for breakfast.  After, of course, making the obligatory appearance in the dining room and sampling whatever was served to us for breakfast.    

If you’ll recall, we were in the mountains of West Virginia, so it was about a 20-minute drive to find a restaurant.  The place we found was Tudor’s Biscuit World.  They serve biscuits that are 4” across.  (I’m not exaggerating.)

Can you see where I’m starting to go astray with my eating?

I was so smart the first morning.  I ordered the low-carb meal; eggs and bacon.  The next morning, I couldn’t pass up those biscuits!  I just had to have one.  I just HAD to have another one on my third morning as well.

The rest of the meals served weren’t that bad, as far as healthy options.  My problem was that since I had packed no snacks (healthy or otherwise); I ate large portions at mealtime for fear that I’d get hungry before the next meal was served.  Next year, I will pack fruit and yogurt and protein bars to take with me!

After returning, I found it difficult to get back on track with my eating for a couple days.  I did, however, manage to get back into my regular routine.

Then we had a big family party!  With cake and punch and sweet foods and fattening side dishes!  Augh!

The Good News:  I am eating my regular healthy foods again.

The Bad News: I gained weight while I was off my plan.

So now I have to pay the price for indulging. 

What have I learned?  Better planning could have helped me to avoid this. 

I’m not going to beat myself up, because every experience helps us learn something.  I just know how to handle the next situation a bit better.

Comments on: "Backsliding" (1)

  1. Glad to hear you found your way to the retreat and back to good & planned food. Cindy Walz

Leave a Reply

