Better Choices, Better Results

Peppers

Mickey put a bunch of pepper plants in the garden.  Banana peppers, jalapeno peppers, green peppers, etc.

I think Mickey likes peppers.

Anyway, I picked some jalapenos the other day with the intent on using them in a recipe that I found called “Heaven & Hell” preserves, made with hot peppers and onions.

After some research, I decided not to make the preserves because they are not shelf-stable and need to be refrigerated all the time.  But now I had all these peppers to deal with, and no real plan.

I decided to just do a basic vinegar, water and salt brine for them.  This would be similar to the pickled pepper rings that you’d find in the grocery.  They can be used in any number of dishes, sandwiches, salads, pizzas, etc.

I ended up with 7 half-pint jars.  I’m quite sure that will last us a whole year, if not more!

Leave a Reply

