Better Choices, Better Results

Pickles

Last week, my co-worker, Tina, and her husband gave me some cucumbers.  They can grow cucumbers like crazy!  Me – not so much.  My plants always die.  I just can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong.  Anyway, they gave me two shopping bags of cucumbers that I needed to process.

Pickles!

I’ve tried making pickles a few times, but I’ve always been disappointed with the results.  They are usually too mushy for me to be able to enjoy.  This time, I found a recipe on one of my favorite blogs, Chickens in the Road, for a Claussen-like pickle.  Crunchy pickles that I make myself?  Oh yes!  I had to try them.

This is a refrigerator pickle and does not get heat processed, so the pickles have to stay in the refrigerator.  They are not shelf-stable.  Therefore, I only made 3 jars because I simply don’t have enough fridge space.

I gathered the ingredients.  I had almost everything I needed right there in the house.  I only needed to buy dill weed and dill seed.

All of my ingredients.

I washed, trimmed and stuffed the cucumbers into the jars. 

Next I piled in the ingredients and topped off with a brine made of water, vinegar and salt.

All I had to do was dump the spices in the jar along with the cucumber spears.

I waited 24 hours and tried them.

Oh.

My.

Goodness.

They are soooooo good!  Even better, I think, than the store-bought pickles!  These are so easy that everyone should try making them!  Click here to go to the recipe page for these pickles.

Ready to go in the refrigerator.

Enjoy – I know I am!

Leave a Reply

