Better Choices, Better Results

Getting a Head Start

I’m not a very patient person, and there are times when I simply MUST do the thing I’ve been thinking about doing.

A little while ago, while at a Farmer’s Market, one of the vendors told me about Produce Auctions.   

PRODUCE AUCTIONS???

Imagine how excited I got hearing about that!

I googled “Produce Auctions in KY” and found 4 that were listed with the University of Kentucky’s School of Agriculture, and I decided to make a trip to the closest one to me. 

I drove about an hour to the Capstone Produce Auction in Campbellsburg, KY.  The auctioneer gave me a brief overview of how the auction works and advised me to just raise my hand at the beginning of bidding and keep it held high until he told me to put it down.  He was joking, of course.  Maybe.  Anyway, I knew better than that, but knew to keep my hand gestures to a minimum during actual bidding. 

As the bidding started, I soon realized there are 3 distinctive types of buyers: those buying small quantities for a meal that night, those buying in order to preserve it for later (me), and those buying to resale at Farmer’s Markets and roadside stands.  I found myself going head-to-head, or bid-to-bid with the latter.

After about an hour and a half, all the items had been sold, and I came home with:

 

I loved my trip to the Produce Auction!

 

What you can’t see are the two additional boxes of tomatoes under the blueberries and the bag of 15 cabbages in my backseat.

I spent $103.50.

From this produce, I’ve made:

  • Zucchini Chips (dehydrated with seasonings, eaten with salsa or plain)
  • Tomato Juice (7 quarts)
  • Salsa (15 pints)
  • Caramelized Onions (13 pints)
  • Sauerkraut (in the crock fermenting – about 16 pints)
  • Sugar-Free Blueberry Pie Filling (6 pints)
  • Dehydrated Zucchini Slabs (for grilling when the zucchini is not in season)
  • Multiple Stir-fry Dinners
  • Multiple side dishes of sliced tomatoes

 It was a fun experience, and I might go again, depending on how my garden produces for the rest of the summer.

 

Leave a Reply

