Better Choices, Better Results

Gardening – the Trials and Tribulations!

It seems like I’m never happy when it comes to this garden!  I complained when it was too wet to plant.  I complained when we weren’t getting enough rain and we needed to water.  I complained when we had a Tater Bug infestation.  Now I’m complaining about weeding and storms!

OK – let me preface this all by saying that we are blessed to have a great spot for a garden.  It was not expensive to rent this location AND we have access to city water.  There really is nothing to complain about and I should shut up.

But…

I wanted to keep you up to date on what’s happening out in Garden-Land.  Actually, things aren’t too bad.  We did have a problem with a bug infestation.  We were trying so hard to keep our garden as organic as possible.  We did not want to use chemicals on our garden.  Unfortunately, the people around us didn’t feel the same way and we were surrounded by Sevin-dusted gardens.  The bugs left those gardens and started feasting on our potato plants!  Ack! 

We went up to water one night and found about 40% of our potato plants almost completely eaten down to the stalks.  We gave in that night and dusted them with Sevin.  The next day we found a better, more organic product and have started using that one instead, but we were bummed that we had to give in.  On the other hand, we felt like it was better to have a crop of potatoes (even with a few chemicals), than to lose the whole garden to bugs.  I normally taken photos of everything to show you, but that night, I was so devastated by the destruction caused by the bugs that I couldn’t bear to have photographic proof.

We know what we need to start with next year, though.

The good news is that the potatoes seem to have recovered nicely and we might get a decent crop after all! 

I went up last night to weed.  We’ve done a pretty good job in the straight rows with Mickey’s little tiller, but in the squash mounds, we haven’t kept up as well.  It’s starting to get out of hand.  My plan was to go up and chop away some weeds.  We’re going to pull out the big tiller as soon as it dries up a bit, but I wanted to at least get started on it.  I’d gotten 6 or 8 square feet of area weeded when a storm hit!  I thought about waiting it out, and then I realized that I was in my little car and I was afraid that it would get stuck in a muddy rut if I didn’t get out of there quickly. 

It was quite a little storm!

I took off and sure enough, the dirt road was nothing but mud, mud, mud and I slipped and slid all over it until I reached the graveled area.  So much for weeding.  Oh well, we’ll get it eventually.

We’ve stared harvesting a little bit, though!  We’ve pulled out a few dozen green onions, which I’ve dried, and we got our first banana pepper the other night.  We’ve also pulled off a couple small green peppers.

The beans look really good and the tomatoes are starting to bloom!  We have a couple of zucchinis that will be ready to pick in a few days and the first batch of corn plants are waist high now.  My sunflowers are big and bushy – I can’t wait until they bloom!

 Until my next gardening update…

Happy weeding!

Leave a Reply

