Better Choices, Better Results

Persistence Pays Off

This morning, I finally achieved my goal of doing a 15-minute mile!  I’ve been searching for music that’s fast enough and finally found some that will work:  Leslie Sansone’s Walking for Weight Loss.

This is a great walking CD! I just rip the music onto my computer, then load onto my mp3 player.

  http://www.amazon.com/Leslie-Sansone-Walking-Weight-Loss/dp/B000EPFTT8

I had actually bought this CD a few months ago and the first time I tried walking with it, I could not keep up.  I’m not joking.  I kept up for about 2 songs and simply couldn’t go any further.  This morning, I did it!

I was out of breath and sweaty, but who cares?  That’s what showers are for, right?  Wait….did I just say that I didn’t care if I was sweaty?  Am I not the woman who said – not all that long ago, I might add – that I HATE to sweat?

Wow.  I am certainly changing, and in more ways than one.

Now my goal is to maintain this level of walking for a little while, maybe 2 – 3 weeks, and then kick it up to meet my next goal – a 12- minute mile!  I can do this!

I’m going to try jogging again soon.  I’m waiting until I get under a certain weight before I try that again, because I don’t want to damage my knees.  I may or may not be able to run that 5K before my birthday, but I can certainly speed-walk it!

Leave a Reply

