Better Choices, Better Results

Bad Brownies!

Bad Brownie Photo

It looks good...that's about all I can say about it.

It looks pretty good, doesn’t it?  A chocolate brownie…no, let me correct myself…a bariatric-friendly chocolate brownie!

This brownie is chock-full of goodness; it’s made from whole wheat flour, cocoa, Splenda, peanut butter and… black beans!

I thought this recipe would be perfect for my next cooking demo, so last night I whipped these up.  They rose nicely and had a great aroma.  However, they are lacking…in taste!  Ugh!  They aren’t good, and I can’t demo a recipe that I don’t think is worthy of our patient’s time and effort.

It’s back to the drawing board for me.  I’m on the search for bariatric baked goods (or perhaps bariatric desserts) that are:

  1. Good
  2. Low-Carb
  3. Low-Fat
  4. Good
  5. Easy to make
  6. Have at least SOME protein, and
  7. Good!

Stay tuned for more updates on this quest.  Mark your calendars…the next cooking demo will be on August 11th at 6:00 pm.

If you have suggestions, I’d love to hear them.  Keep our parameters (listed above) in mind, though!

Leave a Reply

