Better Choices, Better Results

Training…for a 5K!

It has begun.  I can’t believe I actually did it!  I just completed day one of my 5K training program! 

Today’s task was to walk for 5 minutes, jog 60 seconds, walk 90 seconds (repeat for a total of 20 minutes) and walk 5 more minutes.

Let me repeat…I did it!

There were some things I want to do better, but that will come with time and experience.  First, I want to run a little faster, but it was all could do today to keep up a slog (slow + jog) for the entire 60 seconds…especially when I had to jog up an incline.

Second, I’d like to walk faster during the 90-second intervals, but today I was so consumed with getting in some precious, life-sustaining oxygen that I was focused on that.

I didn’t stop, though, and I think that’s important.

I’ll be keeping a photo-journal of my progress.  I now present:  Day One.

This is me (obviously) before my jog.  So cheerful.  So optimistic!  So…able to breathe!

Me, after jogging.  I’m still trying to catch my breath. 

 

Can you see the sweat?  I continued to sweat, even more profusely, for about 10 minutes after I returned.  Look how curly my hair gets!

I’ll be repeating this same jogging pattern for a minimum of 3 days this week.

Can you believe it?!?!?  I’m training for a 5K!

Comments on: "Training…for a 5K!" (1)

  1. […] I decided that I needed a new strategy in my 5K training.  I tried another program (which I posted about), and while I think it’s a good program, I just don’t think it’s for me at this point in my […]

Leave a Reply

