Better Choices, Better Results

I know, I know.  “Great” and “Low-Fat” do not belong in the same sentence when talking about salad dressing.  Normally, I’d be in that camp.  However, I was perusing one of my favorite blogs, www.SkinnyTaste.com, and I came across a recipe called Skinny Cucumber Ranch Dressing.

Skinny.  Off to a good start.

Cucumber.  I like cucumbers.

Ranch.  My favorite!

Dressing.  Well, let’s just see how this turns out.

All the ingredients were to my liking.  There was nothing unnatural or hard to find.  I didn’t need any carrageenan, carrot puree or disodium guanylate – which are listed, along with other unpronounceable ingredients, on a bottle of Light Ranch dressing.  I actually had everything on hand except the buttermilk, yogurt, parsley and scallions.  I was planning a trip to the grocery anyway, so I didn’t have to make an extra trip.

The ingredients are REAL FOOD!

 

First, I added ½ cup buttermilk, ¼ cup light mayo and ¼ cup plain fat-free Greek yogurt to my Magic Bullet cup.  Use a blender if you don’t have a Magic Bullet.

Then I cut a 4 inch section off of an English cucumber.  I peeled it and cut out the center, where the seeds would be.

I prefer pickling cumbumbers becase they taste better. However, it's hard to find them this time of year.

 

Then I chopped up 3 tablespoons of fresh parsley.  I was afraid that dried parsley wouldn’t taste the same.  I’m glad I decided to buy fresh.  I used Italian Flat Leaf parsley.

Buy fresh! Better yet - start a kitchen herb garden!

 

Next came 1 clove of garlic.  I cheated and used pre-chopped.

I cheated this time. I think fresh garlic would have made it even better!

 

Then I added ¼ cup chopped scallions (just the green tops).  You can use chives if you prefer.

I used scallions (green onions), but you could use fresh chives if you have them.

 

The juice of ½ of a lemon came next.

I love my citrus squeezer. It gets the last drop out of the fruit.

 

Then I added the spices: 1/8th teaspoon garlic powder, ¼ teaspoon pepper and ¼ teaspoon salt.

Makin' it spicy!

 

I took it for a spin on the Magic Bullet.

This works better than a blender for small jobs.

 

Viola!  This dressing fulfills its promise to be creamy and ranch-like. 

So yummy!

 

Here’s the recipe in case you don’t want to print off all these photos:

Skinny Creamy Ranch Dressing

From www.Skinnytaste.com

½ cup buttermilk
¼ cup light mayonnaise
¼ cup fat-free Greek yogurt, plain
1 small cucumber, peeled and seeded
3 tb. fresh parsley, chopped
1 clove garlic
¼ cup chives or scallions, chopped
juice of ½ lemon
1/8th ts. garlic powder
¼ ts. black pepper
¼ ts. salt

Put everything in a blender and process until smooth and creamy.  Will keep 3 – 4 days in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

