Better Choices, Better Results

De-Cluttering

I have a pretty small closet.  I’ve always had small closets, though not by choice.  My dream is to have a big walk-in closet some day that will hold not only my clothes, but blankets and sheets and coats and my shoes.  

Back to reality.

Since I don’t have a walk-in, I keep my clothes separated by season.  My closet houses the current season’s wardrobe plus some items that can be worn year-round.  The off-season clothes are kept in a cedar chest in another bedroom.

This weekend, I opened up the cedar chest to see what was in there for spring/summer.  You’ll recall that I’ve been the process of de-cluttering my life.  I’ve already given away or donated a lot of clothing that was too big for me.  Those came from the winter wardrobe.  After going through the Spring/Summer wardrobe, I’ve come up with two more huge piles of clothing that’s too big for me to wear anymore.

In the grand scheme of life, this is a good thing.  It means I’m getting smaller and healthier.  On the other hand, I had a lot of really nice clothes that cost lots of money!  I think I’m going to pack up the nicer clothes and take them to a consignment shop.  I’ve never done that before, but it might be a great way to make a little extra cash, or trade for clothing that will fit me now.

On the bright side – for the first time ever – all of my clothes fit in my closet.  Maybe I could keep it that way and be able to use the cedar chest for those blankets and rugs that are piled in other places…

Leave a Reply

