Better Choices, Better Results

Knowledge is Power

As you know, I’ve been trying to eat better by making wiser choices at each meal.  I track everything I eat by writing it down and totaling everything out each evening.  It’s like a budget – I have certain amounts to eat: protein, fat, fiber and carbohydrates- and I try not to go over my budgeted amount each day.

When I go out to eat, I try really hard to order with forethought.  I look at the menu descriptions and stay away from items that indicate added fat: fried, scampi, battered, country style and glazed, to name a few.  I also look for words that indicate healthier cooking options like roasted, sautéed, baked, grilled and steamed.

Still, it bothers me when I can’t track exactly what I’ve eaten.  I always try to look up nutrition values online if I’m planning to eat out, or if I’ve already eaten at a restaurant but still need to add up my daily totals.

Today I went to Steak ‘n Shake and ordered their Apple Pecan Grilled Chicken Salad with a low-fat dressing.  It was really good.  Afterward, I looked up the nutrition values and found that I did a good job ordering.  My salad had low fat and carbs, high protein and decent fiber.

I couldn’t stop there, though.  I had to look up some of the foods I used to eat.  The cheeseburgers and onion rings and fries and milk shakes.  The nutrition values on those foods shocked me.  In fact, one meal – the way I used to eat – would have been twice the amount that I eat daily now.

Knowledge is power.

Now that I know this, it’ll be very hard for me to order those “old” foods unless it’s a special occasion.

Mindful eating.  Knowing what you are eating.  Eating with purpose.  Making better choices at each opportunity.

If you don’t already do this, I encourage you to find your favorite restaurants online and print off their nutrition pages.  It’s amazing what you’ll learn.

Leave a Reply

