Better Choices, Better Results

Garden Plans

My garden partners and I had a planning meeting the other night.  We have big plans.  Huge.  We figure on having 3200 square feet of garden space.  That’s 1.5 times the size of my house!  We should have plenty of room to grow the following:

Sunflowers – 10 varieties

I just love sunflowers, and I see no reason not to plant them since I have room this year.

 Green Beans – 2 varieties

I’ll be canning, freezing or drying all that we can’t eat.

 Cranberry Beans

These will be dried and used like pinto beans.

Corn

The sweet yumminess of corn – who can resist?

 Tomatoes – 8 – 10 varietiesThese and beans will hopefully be our biggest producers.  Tomatoes have so many uses, and it’s one food that gets healthier for you when cooked.

Cabbage

This will be used in stir-fry dishes, canned and made into sour kraut.

 Onions

Onions, when kept in a cool, dark place, will often keep for months – just like potatoes.

 Watermelon

Sweet, juicy, delightful watermelon! 

 Spaghetti Squash

This winter squash can be eaten many different ways.  It’s good with butter, salt & pepper, but can also be used as a substitute for pasta. 

 Zucchini

Good raw, in salads, in soups and stir-fries, great in quick breads and casseroles.  I’ll be working with zucchini as long as I can get my hands on it.

Cucumbers

I’m on a quest to make good pickles.  Any suggestions?

 Peppers – Red, Green and Hot

I can’t wait to get peppers to work with!

 Potatoes – White and Sweet

I might not eat a lot of potatoes at one meal, but they will keep, can be frozen, canned and dehydrated, when done properly.

I think my summer and harvest season are going to be extremely busy and productive!  I can’t wait to share with you all the ways I preserve the harvest.  Don’t forget – I’ll be updating the blog frequently so you can see how things are coming along.  There will be photos and commentary and recipes – and I’m happy to get advice!

Leave a Reply

