Better Choices, Better Results

Something that Bothers Me

I went to Sam’s the other day to get a few household items and some fruit.  While standing in line, I started looking around at what other people were unloading from their grocery carts.   I’ve noticed that when I’m eating healthier, I tend to scrutinize what’s in other people’s shopping carts.  I know it’s wrong of me, but I can’t help it.

Admit it – you do the same thing, don’t you?

Anyway, I noticed that so many people were purchasing mostly “junk” food.  I saw multiple bags of candy, chips, crackers, sweet rolls, honey buns, Little Debbie Cakes, boxed macaroni and cheese, cake and brownie mixes, full-sugar sodas, white bread, etc.  In my immediate surroundings, I don’t remember seeing anything fresh.  No fruit, no vegetables, no meat products, nothing with whole grain in it.  It actually made me very sad to realize how much people are missing out on by eating pre-packaged foods.   I was also alarmed about the number of chemicals and preservatives they were going to ingest.

Here’s what really gets me, though – unhealthy food is generally less expensive than healthy foods!  I can’t understand that.  To make your average snack cake, you start with a healthy food like whole grain, and then you process it until it’s a sad resemblance of its prior beauty, then you add sugars and fats and preservatives in a huge factory setting.  Then you ship it all over the world where it can sit on a shelf for months without going bad!  And it’s cheaper than a bag of apples.  It doesn’t make sense to me.

I suppose my point in all this rambling is to encourage you to really pay attention to what you are eating.  The less processed something is, the better it’s going to be for your body.  Once you break free of the addiction-like hold that processed, over-sugared and full-of-fat foods have on you, you’ll be able to appreciate the simple beauty in a fresh fruit salad.

Healthy Eating!

