Better Choices, Better Results

Walking Update

Last week was a bad week for me on several accounts.  Stressors…there have been a lot of stressors in my life. Unfortunately, I let that stress interrupt the progress I’d been making with my walking routine. 

Life happens.

Anyway, this morning I was determined to get back on track (pun intended!).

I finally figured out how to download a walking cd onto my mp3 player.  I had purchased “You on a Walk” a couple of years ago, and had never used it.  Today, I did.  The cd has a 30-minute walk with music.  The songs change pace so that you get a fast-paced workout in 30 minutes.  Luckily, I was in the marching band in high school, so I can keep up with the beat on almost any music.  Unfortunately, I kept counting “1,2,3,4 – 1,2,3,4” in my head as I walked.  Those of you who were in band will know what I mean.

This is a GREAT CD if you are looking for a pre-timed music mix.

The music was what I’d call 60’s beach-party style, with a little classical thrown in for the warm up and cool down.  It made me sweat!  It made me change my walking pattern during the really fast songs.  To keep up, I had to take shorter steps, which used different muscles.  Think race-walking.  That’s what I was doing.

It was great!

