Better Choices, Better Results

If you ever did Weight Watchers, you’ve probably heard that old saying.  It’s true, though.  I do really well with my eating until I’m in a situation where I’m out of my comfort zone.

This week has been a perfect example of this.  It’s been crazy this week, both at home and at work.  Long hours + projects due + no time to cook = opportunity to make bad decisions.

This morning, after I completed an errand, I ran over to Meijer and purchased some staples that I can eat on for days.

I bought vegetables, fat-free sour cream and soup mix (to make a dip). 

Fresh out of their bags and ready to be washed!

I bought frozen meals and more vegetables.

Good selection in the frozen section today!

I bought peanut butter, sugar-free jam and flat bread.

I love PB&J!

Just before lunch time, I went to our break room and washed all the veggies and cut them up.  I made the dip, too.  I’ll have enough veggies to snack on for a few days, and it only took me a few minutes to prepare.

I've recently developed a taste for red peppers! (Still don't like green ones.)

As I was cutting these up, it smelled so good! Like summer harvest!

Even though these are "ready to eat", I still wash them.

I prefer my broccoli cooked, but I can eat it raw if I have a dip.

When I was a kid, I used to call this the "brains" of our salads!

All washed and ready to eat! I cut up a pineapple, too!

Because I took a few extra moments at the grocery this morning, I also have some healthier, protein rich frozen meals and even some fun food for snacks.

I’ve also learned that if I leave the house without eating breakfast, I will almost certainly pull into McDonalds.  Hitting McDonalds for breakfast isn’t always a bad thing; they now have fruit & yogurt parfaits, they have oatmeal and their Egg McMuffin isn’t terribly bad for you.  However, if I put myself into that situation by not having food available at home, will I make the healthier choice at McDonalds?  Maybe, maybe not.  I might decide to get something that’s loaded with fat and carbs and way too much sugar.

So, at home, I keep boiled eggs, lean ham, pre-cooked bacon, those new flat sandwich buns, bananas, apples and oat bran with almond milk.  Within 5 minutes I can have any number of healthy breakfast options and be headed out the door.

So my challenge to you is to think about how you can take a few extra moments when you have them and prepare for the moments when your life turns crazy.

My pre-lunch snack. Delish!

 

Bon Appétit!

