Better Choices, Better Results

When I’m walking around the track, I really don’t have anything to think about.  My goal is to download books onto an MP3 player to listen to, but I haven’t gotten that figured out yet.  So now, here’s a look inside my mind while I’m walking around in circles.

  • The clock on the track runs much slower than every other clock.
  • Inconsiderate people are everywhere.  This track isn’t designed to allow two people to walk side-by-side, yet people do this and it sometimes causes a bottleneck.
  • I have short legs and take a whole more steps than people with long legs.
  • I should wear a pedometer more often!
  • If I don’t look at the clock on every lap, time will go faster.
  • Those kids look like they are having fun.
  • I’m getting lapped by that older couple!
  • Wow, fitness can happen at any age.
  • Woo Hoo!  I’m going faster than that man!
  • I’m starting to sweat now.
  • I hate to sweat.
  • Sweating is good for me!
  • Stop thinking about sweating!
  • Shoot!  Twenty more minutes!  I shouldn’t have looked at the clock.
  • I wish the person on her phone would shut up.  I don’t care what she’s having for dinner.
  • Now I’m hungry.
  • Look at that!  He’s been running the entire time I’ve been walking.  One of these days I’ll run like that…maybe.
  • Walk faster!  Here comes that older couple!
  • Uh oh..here comes a group of high school runners.  I hope they don’t say anything about how slow I am.
  •  That clock really is running slow.
  • Keep your head down and focus on walking and breathing.
  • In through the nose, out through the mouth.
  • Why is it in through the nose, out through the mouth?
  • Just a few more laps.
  • Keep going.
  • Cheating the clock is only cheating me.
  • One more lap!
  • Whew!  Done. 
  • Good job.

 I really do need to figure out that MP3 thing, don’t I?

