Better Choices, Better Results

Give Yourself Credit

Sometimes it’s really easy to get bogged down in how far you have to go to reach your goals.  I’m guilty of that.  Too many times I just gave up because I couldn’t see light at the end of the proverbial tunnel.  Don’t do that to yourself!  Give yourself credit for what you have accomplished.  For example, I have a personal weight loss goal, and a friend of mine suggested that I make a paperclip chain to demonstrate that goal.

Weight Loss
Yes! Twenty Pounds down!

I’ve done that.  Hanging on my office wall are two paperclip chains.  One represents the weight I’ve lost – the other represents the weight I have to go.  Sure – one chain is 4 times longer than the other.  But I know that if I continue eating better, taking vitamins and drinking water, I’ll get to move paperclips at a steady rate.  Once I add physical activity, I’m sure that those paperclips will move even faster.

Georgetown Bariatrics

To Be Lost

Update on my 5k Goal:  I’ve learned about a place that allows free use of their walking track.  If I take a different route home, it’s actually on my way.  So starting next week, I’ll drive that way at least 3 days per week; stopping off to walk for at least 30 minutes.  I’ll keep you posted.

For now, take a look at my paperclip chains.     

                                                          
Yes, the bigger pile is what I still have to lose, but I’m making real progress in the “Lost” pile!

