Better Choices, Better Results

Goals

Have you ever had a dream that you wanted to achieve, but you just haven’t figured out how to get there?  Any goal can be achieved; you just have to break it down into smaller, manageable steps.  For example, let’s say your goal is to run a 5K.  Break it down and give yourself a realistic time line.

I actually have a goal of running – yes, running (well, maybe slowly jogging) a 5K.  Now that I’ve posted this “out-loud”, it looks like I’ll actually have to work towards my goal.
Goal: Run a 5K in 6 months.

Steps to achieving goal:

1.   Remove barriers. If you have no sidewalks, look into getting a treadmill.  If purchasing a treadmill or joining a gym is too expensive, look into free alternatives like mall-walking.  Some churches have an activity center that’s free for the community.  Some Y’s will allow free use of their walking track.  Most Wal-Marts are open 24-hours.  No one needs to know you aren’t there to shop.

I’ll let you know what I find.  I’m not in a position to join a gym right now, and our weather has been too unpredictable for me to rely on my neighborhood streets.

2.   Make it measurable. Once you have your walking location, set mini-goals that you can measure.  For example, you can walk 3 times per week for ½ hour for 2 weeks.  Once you’ve achieved that, then increase your time, distance, or days.  You have to set a goal that you can reach today.
I’ll start with walking for 30 minutes 3 times per week, just like I suggested.  I have a little MP3 player that I’ll use to make sure that my walking speed is at around 3 miles per hour.

3.   Track yourself. Studies show that writing things down increases the likelihood of keeping on track.  You track your money in your checkbook, don’t you?  Well, that same principle applies to most areas of our life.  When we write down out To-Do list we’re more likely to get everything done.  Write down and track the steps to your goal.  Get a calendar and put a big “X” on the days your walk or run.  Make a chain out of those “X’s”.  After awhile you won’t want to break you chain, and you’ll be that much closer to achieving your goal.

I’m already tracking what I eat (more on that in a later post), so I’ll write down my physical activity in the same area.
What’s your goal and how can you break it down?  Remember – it’s not about being perfect, it’s about making progress.

