Better Choices, Better Results

Crock Pot Cooking

Crock-Pot cooking has been around for decades, but honestly, I’ve never really used our crock-pot for more than making a roast with vegetables, or cooking a chicken.  Then a patient at my last cooking demo suggested that I demonstrate crock-pot recipes this year.   The challenge was on; I needed to find interesting and EASY crock-pot dishes!

I love a good challenge.

Let’s just say that I’ve used my crock-pot more in the past two months than I ever have.  I’ve been testing breakfast recipes, meat recipes, soups, stews, etc.  Some have been ok – others have been total flops.  For example, I tried a brisket flavored with beer and spices over the weekend.  It was terrible!  In fact, after tasting it, I took the meat out of the liquid it was cooking in, emptied the crock-pot and refilled it with water, then cooked the brisket a couple more hours in the hopes that I would cook some of the flavor out of it!

In the end, I realized that I couldn’t throw out a $12 piece of meat, so I shredded it and coated it with BBQ sauce.  I can still taste all the spices from its original cooking, but the BBQ sauce made it palatable.

I’m telling all of you this because I want you to know that your suggestions are taken seriously.

Don’t forget that my next Cooking Demo, starring Crock-Pot recipes that are actually good, will take place on Thursday, February 3rd, at 6:00pm in the Solarium at Georgetown Community Hospital.

I hope to see you there, and don’t forget we’ll taste everything that I demo!

For more info on our Weight Loss Surgery Program, call 888-868-0008.

