Better Choices, Better Results

Hello world!

Welcome to our Blog!  We are the Bariatric Center at Georgetown Community Hospital, and we are so happy to be able to share our experience through the web!  This blog will contain information specific to weight loss surgery and the procedures that we offer, living with a weight loss surgery, observations, tips, recipes, goal setting, etc.

Nobody said that living with a weight loss surgery (WLS) procedure was easy; in fact we talk about that very phenomenon from the very first time we meet our patients.  We regard WLS as a TOOL, and in order to obtain optimum results, patients have to use the tools as they are designed, along with making permanent lifestyle changes, including proper nutrition, portion control and physical activity.

This blog will be a place where positive energy dwells.  There will be no negativity here!  Every moment is a new opportunity to make a change – a decision – a move in the direction in which you want to move.

It’s all up to you, but we are here to help.

My name is Joann, and I’ve been a team member at The Bariatric Center at Georgetown Community Hospital since 2003.  My co-workers and I have a real passion for helping people get healthier.  While I’m not a weight loss surgery patient myself, I do try to be as healthy as possible, even though I too, struggle with extra weight.  Because of this, I do feel like I understand many of the frustrations and feelings with which our patients struggle.

This blog will introduce you to our program, our employees, our surgeons, our facility, etc.  I’ll show you what I do within our program and as a person struggling with excess weight and how I still try to make healthier habits.

If you are considering Weight Loss Surgery, or just want to tag along for this ride, I welcome you.

Leave a Reply

